Saturday - August 2nd, 2003

The 7th Annual
Boston Louie Seymour
Memorial Classic

THANKS to all our sponsors
- whose support makes this event the most prestigious midget race in the East!

1 45 Joey Payne Hard
2 17 Ben Seitz -
3 10c Sean Caisse -
4 81 Tim Heath -
5 35 Glen Cabral -
6 7ny Adam Cantor -
7 91 Drew Fornoro -
8 44 Ed Breault -
9 50 Pete Persnesiglio -
10 61 Gary Haltman -
11 8 Erica Santos -
12 56 Bob Boetticher -
13 10 Lee Bundy -
14 57 Bob Bradbury -
15 22 Andy Shlatz -
16 16 Matt O'Brien -
17 12 Kyle Carpenter -
18 29 Bobby Santos III -
19 12w Phil DiMario -
20 15 Ryan Dolan -
21 2 Howie Bumpus -
22 3 Tommy Spada -
- 46 Rudy Boetticher DNS
- 98 Mike Roselli Jr. DNS
- 32 Justin Barger DNS
- 36 Randy Cabral DQ

Jeff Gordan Dash

600-DSC_3849.jpg (48983 bytes)

rebullet.gif (1845 bytes)

Heat Action

Photos by
Norm Marx

Victory Circle

rebullet.gif (1845 bytes)

Race Action

Feature Winner: Joey Payne, Fairlawn, NJ
Received: $1,200 & an autographed Jeff Gordon Hat

Heat Race #1: The A.J. Foyt Heat Winner: Sean Caisse-Pelham, NH
Received: $100 & an A.J. Foyt Hat

Heat Race #2: The Tony Stewart Heat Winner: Glenn Cabral-Plymouth, MA
Received: $100 & an autographed Tony Stewart Hat

Jeff Gordon Dash Winner: Joey Payne-Fairlawn, NJ
Received: $200 & a Cookie Monster Diecast autographed by Jeff Gordon

Second Place Finisher: Glenn Cabral-Plymouth, MA 
Received: A Jeff Gordon autographed wall clock

(Dash Participants: Glen Cabral, Adam Cantor, Joey Payne & Sean Caisse)


Mario Andretti Hard Charger Award (presented by Mario Andretti)
$100 to Joey Payne, Fairlawn , NY

Winning Crew (presented by Fast Track Driving School)
$100 to Dumos Desire (#45)

Winning Crew Chief (presented by Dom "Diesel" Inferra)
$29 to Joe Fiore, Jr. (#45)

1st Autocraft Engine (presented by Autocraft)
$100 to Ben Seitz

1st Car Out of the Feature (presented by West End Equipment Rental)
$100 to Tommy Spada

2) Hard Luck Awards (presented by Dora Naves & Assoc.)
$100 to Justin Barger, $100 to Mike Roselli

BLSMC Race Rookie (presented by Tim Delrose)
$100 to Sean Caisse

st Finishing NEMA Rookie (presented by Crow Enterprises)
$100 to Sean Caisse

Sportsmanship Award (presented by C&R Radiator)
$100 to Kyle Carpenter

Best Appearing Crew (presented by Bob & Judi Coulter-Bloomington, IN)
$100 to Adam Cantor Racing

Travel Award-Car Owner in Memory of Bob Blair
(presented by Martel Motorsports)
$100 to David Halteman, Gilbertsville, PA

Travel Award-Driver (presented by Parker Sanitation-Wrentham, MA)
$100 to Gary Halteman, Gilbertsville, PA

Design 500 Gift Certificates
5th Place Finisher: Glenn Cabral
10th Place Finisher: Gary Halteman
15th Place Finisher: Andy Schlatz

Boston Louie Honors For Payne

The tape continues to raise havoc in the Northeastern Midget Association. Randy Cabral was the latest victim Saturday night, his apparent victory in the Wirtgen America Boston Louie Memorial at Waterford Speedway lost to a “too wide” violation in tech.

Joey Payne Jr., who finished several lengths behind Cabral, wound up with the $1,200 win. Gene Angelillo became the first two-time Boston Louie winning car owner.

“I screwed up,” admitted Cabral who had changed a right rear just prior to the feature believing there was no change in rim width. “I can’t blame anybody. It is my fault.” He was looking to become the first two-time Louie winner, having prevailed in 2000.

Payne called the outcome “ridiculous.” It was the second time the point leader has been “gifted” this year, an identical situation happening earlier at Star Speedway. It was the third time it’s happened this season, Bobby Santos III the loser at Thompson Speedway.

“Randy drove his butt off,” said Payne, who spent most of the race nursing a blistering right rear. “Nobody likes to win this way, especially the Boston Louie.”

Running third on a lap three restart, Cabral took second from his father Glen and, a couple laps later, got by Sean Cassie, the only other leader, heading into three. “He just pinched up a little bit and gave me the room,” explained Cabral. He proceeded to get away from a Payne-Caisse battle behind him.

Payne’s final shot came on a restart with six laps left. On the green Cabral powered into turn one and came out of two with a lead. “It was the only shot I had,” said Payne. “He went in pretty hard and it stuck down there.”

“I just held on,” said Cabral. “I really thought Joey was going to get me.”

Payne, who “tried to slow down to protect the tire”, took second from Caisse six laps earlier in the backstretch. “By lap 10 I knew I had tire trouble,” he said. “I had to be careful.”

Ben Seitz wound up with runner-up honors followed by Caisse, Tim Heath and Glen Cabral in the top five. Adam Cantor, Drew Fornoro, Ed Breault, Pete Pernesiglio and Gary Halteman completed the top 10.

It was a “sweep” for Payne who also captured the Jeff Gordon Dash (worth $200), passing Glen Cabral going under the white flag. Caisse and Glen Cabral won the A.J Foyt and Tony Stewart heats respectively, each worth $100. Payne, Caisse and Cabral all received autograph memorabilia as well. Payne also collected the Mario Andretti Hard Charger Award ($100).
Heat 1
1- 10c Caisse
2 - 7ny Cantor
3 - 36 R. Cabral
4 - 15 Dolan
5 - 91 D. Fornoro
6 - 12w DiMario
7 - 22 Shlatz
8 - 44 Breault
9 - B. Santos
10 - 61 Haltman
11 - 56 B. Boetticher
12 - 2 Bumpus - DNF
Heat 2
1 - 35 G. Cabral
2 - 45 Payne
3 - 8 E. Santos
4 - 08 Roselli
6 - 81 Heath
7 - 17 Seitz
8 - 46 R. Boetticher
9 - 12 Carpenter
10 - 50 Pernisiglio
11 - 11 Bundy
12 - 16 O'Brien
13 - 57 Bradbury
14 - 3 Spada

Corporate Sponsor

Stu and Connie Murray
of Wirtgen America

Feature Sponsors

E. F. Shea New England Concrete Products North Wilmington, MA

R.J. Harrington Trucking Co.
North Billerica, MA

West End Equipment & Rental, Inc. &
Roselli Enterprises
Brodheadsville, PA

Jeff Gordon Dash

4 Lap Dash for Heat race winners,
B-Main Winner and Fast Qualifier

Sponsored by

Campanale Brothers

Heat Sponsors

A.J. Foyt Heat

Sponsored by

ARE Tools - Wellesley, MA

Millbrook Motors, Inc. - Duxbury, MA

Westboro Auto Exchange - Westboro, MA

Tony Stewart Heat

Sponsored by

Caisse Construction - Pelham, NH

Mini Performance Specialties - Toledo, OH

Oval Tracks Parts & Service - Findlay, OH

B-Main Sponsor

Ferrara Spring Works, Inc. - Springfield, MA

Race Awards

Mario Andretti Hard Charger - $100
Mario Andretti - Nazareth, PA

Fast Time- Qualifying - $100
Fast Track Driving School - Harrisburg, NC

1st Autocraft Engine - $ 100
Autocraft Engine - Marlboro, MA

1st Out of Feature - $ 100
West End Equipment & Rental - Brodheadsville, PA

Hard Luck Award - $ 100
Dora Naves & Associates - Marlboro, MA   

Race Rookie - $ 100
Tim Delrose -  Joliet, IL

1st Finishing Nema Rookie - $ 100
Crow Enterprises - Torrence, CA

B-Main Winner - $ 100
C&R Radiator - Indianapolis, IN

B-Main Hard Charger - $ 100
Bob & Judi Coulter - Bloomington, IN

Winning Crew Chief - $ 29
Dom "Diesel" Inferrera - Concord, MA

Travel Award - Car Owner - $100
In Memory of Bob Blair
Martel Motorsports - Ipswich, MA

Travel Award - Driver - $ 100
Parker Sanitation - Wrentham, MA